Map of the site  |  Text size: A (normal) | A (medium) | A (large)  |  Contrast: A (normal) | A (medium) | A (high)  |  Accessibility  |  Help

HomeContact usDo it onlineA-Z of servicesDepartmentsMapsMy AccountCymraeg
You are here: Home > Council and Democracy > Councillors, Democracy and Elections > Elections > National Assembly for Wales Elections

National Assembly for Wales Elections

Elections - 5 May 2011

The election results for Wales are available on the BBC website.

Arfon Constituency Results

  • DAVIES Aled
    Welsh Conservative Party - 2,209 
  • JONES Alun Ffred
    Plaid Cymru - The Party of Wales - 10,024 
  • JONES Rhys
    Welsh Liberal Democrats - 801
  • REES Christina Elizabeth
    Welsh Labour - 4,630

Turnout: 43.4%

Dwyfor Meirionnydd Constituency Results

  • BAYNES Simon
    Welsh Conservative Party - 4,239
  • CHURCHMAN Stephen William
    Welsh Liberal Democrats - 1,000
  • ELIS-THOMAS Dafydd
    Plaid Cymru - The Party of Wales - 9,656
  • HUGHES Louise
    Llais Gwynedd - The Voice of Gwynedd 3,225
  • SINGLETON Martyn Stuart
    Welsh Labour 2,623

Turnout: 46.3%


The electoral system

The National Assembly for Wales has 60 elected members.

Each voter in elections to the National Assembly for Wales has two votes, used in a voting system known as the Additional Member System. The system is a form of proportional representation.

The first vote is used to elect a constituency Assembly Member on the basis of the traditional 'first past the post' electoral system, similar to a UK Parliamentary election. The National Assembly constituencies are coterminous with UK Parliamentary constituencies and this results in the election of 40 constituency Assembly members. Click on the link on the left to view a map of the Arfon and Dwyfor Meirionnydd constituency boundaries.

The second vote is used to elect regional Assembly Members - four Assembly Members are elected from each of the five electoral regions across Wales. These regions are North Wales, Mid and West Wales, South Wales West, South Wales Central, and South Wales East. Click on the link on the left to view a map of the five electoral regions. Using their second vote, electors vote for an independent candidate or a political party in a 'closed list' system. In relation to political parties, ballot papers show the list of named candidates nominated by each political party and successfully elected candidates are drawn in order from the top of the relevant party list. This results in the election of 20 regional Assembly Members.

Referendum - 3 March 2011

A Referendum on the law-making powers of the National Assembly for Wales was held on 3 March 2011.

The question asked in the Referendum was: Do you want the Assembly now to be able to make laws on all matters in the 20 subject areas it has powers for?

For more information go to the Electoral Commission website.

Results in Gwynedd
Yes: 28,200
No: 8,891

Gwynedd has voted in favour of giving the Assembly more law making powers.

Percentage turnout: 43.39%

To see the results for all areas in Wales go to The Electoral Commission - Results website.


Notice of Election - Arfon Constituencypdf (pdf, 49k)
Notice of Election - Dwyfor Meirionnydd Constituencypdf (pdf, 50k)
Notice of Election - North Wales Electoral Regionpdf (pdf, 21k)
Notice of Election - Mid and West Wales Electoral Regionpdf (pdf, 77k)
Statement of persons nominated and notice of poll - Arfon constituencypdf (pdf, 13k)
Statement of persons nominated and notice of poll - Dwyfor and Meirionnydd constituencypdf (pdf, 14k)
Statement of registered political parties who have submitted a party list - North Walespdf (pdf, 39k)
Statement of registered political parties who have submitted a party list - Mid and West Walespdf (pdf, 37k)
List of agents - Arfon / Dwyfor and Meirionnydd constituenciespdf (pdf, 22k)
List of agents - North, West and Mid Wales regionspdf (pdf, 60k)
Polling Stations - Arfonpdf (pdf, 59k)
Polling Stations - Dwyfor and Meirionnyddpdf (pdf, 69k)

Visit to install the freeAdobe© Reader software or get help withpdf accessibility.

Can't find what you're looking for? Use the A-Z or search the site
Last updated: 11/09/2013
Terms and Conditions|Privacy and Cookies|© Gwynedd Council 2014
Skip to [ top of page ]